SUBMISSIONS OPEN: August 12 - October 13, 2019

Judge: Sigrid Nunez

Entries for the Emerging Writer's Prize in Fiction should be a single prose work not exceeding 7,500 words. Entrants may submit more than once, but each new entry must be accompanied by a separate $20 entry fee.

Contest Guidelines:

-    Open to writers who haven’t yet published a full-length book, and who have no book forthcoming before May 1, 2020. Writers with chapbooks are allowed. Writers with a self-published book with a print run under 500 copies are allowed.
-    All work will be considered for inclusion in the print magazine.
-    Only previously unpublished work will be considered.
-    The contest will be judged blindly, so please DO NOT include your cover letter, your name, or any contact information in your uploaded document.
-    Submit your double-spaced work as a single .doc, .docx, or .pdf file.
-    Close friends of the judge, as well as anyone recently affiliated with the University of Arkansas, which includes those who have studied or worked there within the past 4 years, are ineligible.
-    $20 entry fee includes a one-year subscription to The Arkansas International (free to current subscribers).

-    Online submissions accepted via The Arkansas International's Submittable.


Sigrid Nunez, 2019 Judge

Sigrid Nunez has published seven novels, including A Feather on the Breath of God, The Last of Her Kind, Salvation City, and, most recently,The Friend. She is also the author of Sempre Susan: A Memoir of Susan Sontag. Among the journals to which she has contributed areThe New York Times, The New York Times Book Review, The Wall Street Journal, The Paris Review, Threepenny Review, Harper’s, McSweeney’s, Tin HouseThe Believer and Her work has also appeared in several anthologies, including four Pushcart Prize volumes and four anthologies of Asian-American literature. One of her short stories has been selected for The Best American Short Stories 2019. Nunez’s work has been translated into nine languages and is in the process of being translated into fourteen more.

Sigrid’s honors and awards include a Whiting Writer’s Award, a Berlin Prize Fellowship, and two awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters: the Rosenthal Foundation Award and the Rome Prize in Literature. The Friend won the 2018 National Book Award and was a finalist for the 2019 Simpson/Joyce Carol Oates Prize. She has taught at Columbia, Princeton, Boston University, and the New School, and has been a visiting writer or writer in residence at Amherst, Smith, Baruch, Vassar, Syracuse, and the University of California, Irvine, among others. Beginning in fall, 2019, she will be writer in residence at Boston University. Sigrid has also been on the faculty of the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference and of several other writers’ conferences across the country. She lives in New York City.